Celebrities / Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera pulling a Gaga?

I shy away from Christina Aguilera discussions…or at least I used to. Aside from giving her props on her obvious vocal talents, I just never really cared about her. She went through identity crisis after identity crisis, and I just couldn’t bring myself to deal with the personality ADD.

And then she started gaining weight and attempting to justify it with the whole “I’m confident in my body…Real women have curves” thing, and my eye roll wouldn’t stop. We could speculate a million times over where the weight gain really came from. A mommy having trouble losing the baby weight, frustration sets in, she gives up. Fallen singer not able to make the hits that once came so easy, depression sets in, she stops caring about her body…she’s rich anyway, she can do whatever she wants. All the fake-bake toxins have built up in her body and the results are a dirty-orange bloated mess. OR drugs and alcohol become more important than appearances. Vodka bellies are much more comforting than eating disorders….just ask Lindsay Lohan.

At any rate, these are just my bitchy accusations. Christina Aguilera has decided to address her weight gain. She opened up to Billboard magazine because clearly she has a new album to promote. Come on guys,  can’t do it all:

“I am Ecuadorian, but people felt so safe passing me off as a skinny, blue-eyed white girl,” Aguilera said.

But during the promotion of her album “Stripped” in 2002, Aguilera admits she “got tired of being a skinny, white girl.”

When she gained about 15 pounds during the tour, her label held an emergency meeting, she confessed.

“[They claimed] people I toured with would also miss out if I gained weight, because I would sell no records or tickets for my shows. I was young, so I lost the weight quickly and was toothpick thin during ‘Back to Basics’ promos and touring.”

But now, Aguilera is fighting back. She says that when she met with her label before she started recording her upcoming album, “Lotus,” she told them:

“’You are working with a fat girl. Know it now and get over it.’ They need a reminder sometimes that I don’t belong to them. It’s my body,” Aguilera told Billboard. “My body can’t put anyone in jeopardy of not making money anymore — my body is just not on the table that way anymore.”

Just last week, Aguilera released the video for her song “Your Body,” which will be on her upcoming album. Her love of her new curves is evident in the video, as she has no problem flaunting her assets. The opening scenes show her rolling around on a bed in lingerie, and the video ends with her wearing a black skintight cut-out dress.

“I’ve been criticized for being on both sides of the scale. It’s noise I block out automatically. I love my body. My boyfriend loooves my body. My son [4-year-old Max] is healthy and happy, so that’s all that matters to me,” she said in an interview with Marie Claire magazine earlier this year.

Source

Here’s the thing, I am all for embracing your figure; but I cannot rally behind celebrities who “embrace fuller figures” only after their own figures come under fire. I said the same thing about Lady Gaga in a previous post…only I feel like her reasonings were completely different from Christina and a whole new level of selfish. Yay for Real women have curves…Boo for I have curves now and people are being mean to me…so I’m your sista! *fists in the air*.

Share your thoughts

