Blake Lively / Celebrities

Excuse me while I roll my eyes at Blake Lively…again

Our best friend ever, Blake Lively, has given yet another interview where she tries to convince us, and herself, that she’s just like every other girl in America.

Look, I know I pick on Blake a lot, but that’s just because she keeps shoveling all this sh*t down our throats.

You know what I like about celebrities? Their lavish lifestyles. The fact that they make major bank singing songs that we love or pretending to be other people or peddling senseless, overpriced products just because they can. They don’t pretend to just do housework and homework and carpool patrol. They will gladly tell you that they lost 60 pounds after giving birth because they have the most amazing personal chef…or because they starved themselves back to pin-thin (hey it’s their lifestyle) or because Weight Watchers offered them $4 million. They wear clothes that would look stupid in our day to day work environments and drive cars that would stick out like a sore thumb in the lovely town of Po-Dunk, MiddleofNowhere. They party ALL the time and practically get high and wasted in front of our faces. And we love them for it…we eat their sleaze and trash….living vicariously through them because we would never be stupid enough to do half the things they do. They’re self-absorbed and narcissistic, and they get a pass. Because for as long as they have been in the spotlight, we tell them that everything is about them…that they are important…that their next song or movie could be just the cure for cancer that we have been looking for.

And then there is Blake. She did an interview for the October issue of Marie Claire magazine. Excerpt via Celebitchy:

She loves fashion: ‘I love fashion. It’s such an expression of self.’ Before adding: ‘There’s no designer I don’t have access to.’

She plays dark characters: ‘Time and again I play drug addicts with sexual issues. I never knew I had a dark side, but this is clearly where I get it out of my system.’

She’s totally sober: “I don’t drink. I’ve never tried a drug.”

Indulgences: “I’d rather have a bit of cellulite and go do a food trip and try every ice cream place in the South.”

She cooks: ‘I’m in a big cooking phase,’ she said. ‘If you went to my house you would not think it belonged to an actress. There’s no memorabilia from my career, no showbizzy pictures on the wall. You would think it was the house of a cooking obsessive.’

Styling herself: ”Styling is a lot of work! I guess I would consider [getting a stylist] in the future. ‘If I had a family and I was going on a press tour, I would not be spending my time [researching fashion] – I’d be getting my kids their Cheerios. ‘But I love it so much, it’s a good outlet for my creativity. If you make a mistake [when you don’t have a stylist] at least it’s your own mistake.”

Fashion regrets: ”The only time I really felt a lot of regret is when it was something that I didn’t want to wear – something somebody had made for me and it didn’t turn out right. I never got to meet the designer and there was a lot Lost InTranslation. ‘I just felt bad because it didn’t look right on me, but I wore it anyway as I didn’t want to hurt people’s feelings.”

Just once I want Blake to let on that she enjoys the perks of being a celebrity. She doesn’t have to portray Suzie Homemaker all the time. Even the most boring housewife has a wild streak. Where’s yours, Blake?

Share your thoughts

