Celebrities / Jessica Simpson

Baby Wait…Baby Weight…Jessica Simpson

Have you ever met a woman who seems to enjoy every second of her pregnancy? You know who am referring to. She’s the one in the corner dipping her McDonald’s fries in her ice cream. The one eating the cheesesticks and popping Tums between every bite. The one that ate the fried Snickers at the last town festival. The one who gained so much weight that she appeared to be “ready to pop” at 6 months. Of course you know her…She’s Jessica Simpson.

Look, I’m all for indulging during pregnancy. I honestly believe that it is the ONLY time that you can get away with eating whatever you desire without your taste buds committing suicide on your tongue. However, I think that Jessica Simpson may have OVERindulged. I think that she believed that her Weight Watcher’s contract was some magic pill or that she could will her old body back without too much work. But she wasn’t exactly tiny BEFORE she got pregnant…so…

At any rate, Jessica will reveal her post-baby body at some point within the next couple of weeks in her new Weight Watcher’s commercial. So of course…like this is some sort of album release or movie premiere, she is doing interviews to promote…her commercial. Excerpt:

When it came to pregnancy cravings, Jessica Simpson did not discriminate. The singer-fashion mogul reveals in a new interview that “I let myself indulge in everything I wanted because it was the first time I was ever pregnant, and I wanted to enjoy it. I wanted to be happy and eat what I wanted” — which included a lot of her favorite dish, macaroni and cheese.

But after she gave birth to daughter Maxwell Drew on May 1, Simpson — who revealed in March that she was already 170 pounds — was faced with the consequences of gaining so much weight. “I didn’t realize it didn’t all come off with the baby,” she confesses.

That’s where Weight Watchers came in. Simpson, 32, signed a reported $4 million deal with the weight loss company to shed the extra pounds and become their spokesperson. Her first commercial, in which she will reveal her post-baby body, is set to air next week. Since starting the calorie-counting program after giving birth, “I’ve lost weight every single week,”  says Simpson. 

And she’s doing it in a healthy way. Simpson is “eating less of everything,” but “I don’t believe in completely depriving myself.” When she first started Weight Watchers, she allowed herself 34 points a day (for example, fresh fruits and vegetables count as zero points), but after weaning Maxwell off breastfeeding, she’s now down to 28 — and none of those include mac and cheese. But Simpson still indulges her sweet tooth. “I’m a woman who wants her chocolate,” she says. “I allot myself a fun-size [bag of] M&Ms. I eat one of those, and my craving is satisfied. I don’t need the whole bag of M&Ms.”

Simpson is also burning off the calories with the help of personal trainer Harley Pasternak. Four to five times a week, she does 60 minutes of cardio each day. “My boobs are way too big to run at this point,” she says. “I’m just walking.” And walking she is! Thanks to a pedometer, she keeps track of how many steps she takes each day (14,000, up from 10,000). “We take Maxwell out a lot,” Simpson says. 

And the new mom doesn’t just want to be a healthy role model for her daughter, but also women all over the world who have a similar struggle. “I feel like everybody can do what I am doing,” says Simpson, “I’m not a supermodel. My body is not bouncing back like a supermodel. I’m just your everyday woman who is trying to feel good and be healthy for her daughter, her fiancé, and herself.”

Source

I love that she didn’t go on a ridiculous diet to lose the weight, and then pretend that it was all Weight Watchers and exercise. Healthy eating and personal training is a realistic and relatable way to slim down. And I like to think that Jessica had begun to embrace her new curvy figure prior to her pregnancy, and she’s not looking to be pin thin…just healthy.

**I secretly can’t wait to see what she looks like in these Weight Watchers commercials… I hope she’s not yelling the whole time like Jennifer Hudson.**

Share your thoughts

