Celebrities

Minka Kelly…cool name

Minka Kelly is what I consider a starter star. She hasn’t yet had that breakout role that will catapult her into every household and onto every red carpet. She’s around, but no one really pays attention. They tried that awful Charlie’s Angels reboot that I think really set her…and the rest of the cast back; and The Roommate was good…I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, but it didn’t take her where I think she should be. All she needs is one major role…something where she is suicidal, homicidal, overweight, depressed, underprivileged…or a combination of all of these, and she’s set.

The girl is gorgeous (and sometimes I feel like I may overuse that word, but in this instance I think I deserve a pass). AND she is 32! Seriously! I would have guessed no older than 25…and that’s pushing it. So of course I scoured the interweb looking for Minka Kelly Tips and Tricks, and I found a couple of interesting articles.

If you want generic, you can go here and here. I’m not interested in four key toning moves…that sh*t isn’t legit. Sorry. However, I did find an older article where she specifically discusses her diet and exercise regimen:

 Q: What aspects of your health are you fanatical about?
A: Getting enough sleep and drinking lots of water are the most underrated, simple, and beneficial things you can do for your health. I also have to sleep a full eight hours. And I like to take my half-hour power naps in the middle of the day.

Q: You’ve been described as “simultaneously curvy and toned.” Do you try for that?
A: Well, if I didn’t work out as hard as I do, I’d be really thick. [Laughs.] That’s also hard, because I love to eat. But it’s about wanting to take care of myself, as opposed to wanting to look a certain way. I don’t really ever stand on a scale.

It can be self-defeating to weigh yourself every day. Then you end up obsessing over it. And if you’re working out and gaining muscle, your weight is not going to go down, but your fat could be decreasing.

Q: What’s your workout regimen?
A: I do a lot of running, which I enjoy for mental reasons, too. I’ll be really frazzled and run for 30 minutes, and everything sort of seems clear again.

Q: Is there any form of exercise that just wasn’t for you? 
A: I did Bikram yoga for a while, and I know that’s not for me. Too hot!

Q: Any secret-weapon foods?
A: I always have a bowl of Kashi Go Lean cereal with some cut-up strawberries
for breakfast. It’s just the quickest, healthiest breakfast. And it fills me up.

Q: What’s your eating vice?
A: I’m a dessert freak. I looove peach cobbler. Everything in moderation. Have a cheat day—Whoo! Sunday’s Cheat Day. I’m gonna have my peach cobbler!—then it’s exciting, and you really enjoy it. 

Health

She also promotes portion control (but so does everyone else) and eating lots of fresh fruits and veggies and protein. AND I appreciate that she talks about NOT weighing yourself everyday. A lot of women are so obsessed with the number on the scale that they forget to take other factors into account.

 

Share your thoughts

